Commentary, travel

date me! I’m not A Girl Who Travels

I wouldn’t tell you to date a girl who doesn’t travel and you definitely should steer clear of A Girl Who Travels, so where does that leave you? With tons of options, actually.

You see, there are lots of girls who travel who do not ascribe to the formula of A Girl Who Travels. In fact, any legit adventurous girl will resent the fact that some asshole is trying her put her into a box. I certainly don’t enjoy being labelled. Bitch, you don’t know me. What you’re actually describing, sweetheart, is yourself, and you’re kind of a doucher. Don’t worry, I’m not just going to point fingers and call names, I’m going to explain why she’s a doucher.

As a girl who also enjoys travelling, I related to a few bits of the article, but then I was like, get me out of here! I don’t want to be associated with this drivel.

My credentials: I was a flight attendant for over 4 years and traveled additionally in my time off. I’m currently living abroad. So, not as full on as A Girl Who Travels, thankfully.

I enjoy going to the movies. Just because I’m more well traveled and interesting than you, that doesn’t mean that I can’t enjoy the simple pleasures in life.

I’m polite enough that you won’t realize that I don’t want to hear you brag about your skydiving experience. Plus I’ve never been, so I might truly be interested.

You can complain about your boring job, to a point. Of course we should talk about other stuff too, but I wouldn’t have any friends if they felt they couldn’t share their mundane experiences with me.

I hate the expression that one “dances to the beat of her own drum”. What a trite phrase.

If the most important thing in life isn’t surfing, then what is??

I don’t need a guy to help me pitch a tent, etc. but I’ve learned the value of having a little extra brawn. Besides teamwork, guys are great at being delegated to.

It’s great meeting new people and, especially when you’re traveling, it’s actually more interesting if they aren’t like minded. If you’re just going around Asia to talk to other smug Western people who think they’ve stumbled upon life’s greatest secrets, you’re not really taking in the culture. You could meet people like that through your pot dealer back home.

When you’re in a new place, it’s great to have a constant–someone you love, by your side. It also makes you less vulnerable to organ traffickers.

Don’t date a stereotype.

Also, for the record, I’m married.

RELATED:
Girl Power-Cut

 

Standard

One thought on “date me! I’m not A Girl Who Travels

Leave a Reply

